Thirty Before 30

Since 30 is not very far off the horizon for me, I thought it was time to publicly post my Thirty Before 30 list. I was inspired by Katy Upperman’s Thirty Before 35 project, which was in turn inspired by Ghenet Myrthil’s Thirty Before 30 challenge list. Essentially, the idea behind Thirty Before 30 is to challenge yourself to finally do the things and enrich your life through new experiences. It’s part Bucket List, part goals. Committing myself to this kind of project now is strangely perfect timing.

  • Decade birthday milestones do tend to make you reflect a little more on where you are, who you are, and what you want out of yourself and life.
  • My One Word Resolution for this year is CHANGE, which pairs nicely with this project.
  • I know how uncomfortable new and unknown situations can make me. I’m an introvert and kind of shy in person; I’m a chronic procrastinator; my Leonine laziness can get the better of me. And so I know making myself finally look at these things I want to do and actually setting out to do them or embracing them as they come is ultimately going to be good for me.
  • I’m launching this blog, Girl on the Roam, which is about embracing your geekery and having a sense of adventure, which makes something like Thirty Before 30 a great fit as a feature here.

I’ll have approximately 1 year to get through as many of these as possible. I’ll cross off items as I complete them on the Thirty Before 30 homepage, and when I can, I’ll link to relevant blog posts and pictures about it. You can also check out the 30 Before 30 label for all posts pertaining to items on this list. (Disclaimer: If you know me, you’ll know some of these items have already been done, but everything will have been done within the last 2 years. I decided to include these here because they were on my private version of this list, and I wanted to use the original list I had in mind.)

  1. Road trip up the Pacific Coast Highway.
  2. Order a subscription box.
  3. Finally read Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.
  4. Attend San Diego Comic Con.
  5. Attend a music festival.
  6. See a Broadway musical on Broadway.
  7. Go on a spontaneous vacation.
  8. Visit Harry Potter Wizarding World / Harry Potter Studio Tour.
  9. See a Shakespearean play performed in London.
  10. Go on a writers’ retreat.
  11. Sell a poem.
  12. Vacation with my friends.
  13. Attend a book convention.
  14. Visit Hamilton Grange (finally!!)
  15. Finish book trilogies: Graceling Realm, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Lynburn Legacy.
  16. Visit the White House.
  17. Rehaul my closet (time to shed the old wardrobe, old skin).
  18. Go to Italy.
  19. Finish a manuscript.
  20. Watch a big game at a sports bar.
  21. Learn calligraphy.
  22. Read Jellicoe Road (finally!).
  23. Ride a mule down into the Grand Canyon.
  24. Bonfire on the beach.
  25. Participate in a podcast.
  26. Have a summer movie marathon.
  27. Visit The Last Bookstore.
  28. Take Loki to the beach.
  29. Visit the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.
  30. Make magic coffee.
7 thoughts on “Thirty Before 30

  1. Jaime Morrow says:

    Awesome list, Alice! You have things here that I would LOVE to do one day myself. I think I’ll be bumping “magic coffee” to the top of my list. That feels doable. Also: yummy. 😉 Can’t wait to hear about and see pictures of all these awesome things you plan to do and see!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katy Upperman says:

    I have so many things to say… First, I love the idea behind this blog, and I can’t wait to follow along! I bet you’ll love the Pacific Coast Highway drive — so beautiful. And JELLICOE ROAD! Please let me know what you think. One of my all-time favorites. Wishing you all the luck on your writing goals, and thanks so much for putting Magic Coffee on my radar. Sounds incredible!

    Like

  3. Kristan says:

    GRACELING and DOSAB are so, so worth reading to the end! JELLICOE ROAD, too, although that one took me a while to get into.

    And I am always going to support traveling and writing. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

