Hart & Hunter

In high school, I joked to my friends that I’d grow up to be a penniless poet. It made sense because I liked to write, and while I had very little formal education in poetry, I enjoyed reading and dabbling in it.

Fast forward to not-so-long-ago, and I’d all but given it up. Thanks to Twitter and writer friends*, I found my way back to poetry and started to feel like maybe I wasn’t terrible at it. I wrote a few, made a resolution to submit (no. 11) ** a few, subbed a couple to online lit-mags, and left it to fair fortune.

Processed with VSCOcam with se1 preset

I’m incredibly excited to say STRANGE HORIZONS accepted one of my poems for publication***, and it’s part of this week’s issue!

You can read my poem ACTAEON now if you have a few spare minutes.

It would make my day if you did.

Let me tell you, it feels damn amazing to have been accepted by Strange Horizons, especially when you look at the great speculative fiction writers they’ve published. It’s an honor and an ego boost.

And in the spirit of my little poem being out in the world, I’d like to share some images**** that inspired and reminded me of this tale of a hart and a hunter.

We Are the Forest by eatmefeedme (source)

pawprints

Photo by TanjaMoss (source)

We Are the Forest by eatmefeedme (source)

Diana the Huntress by Guillaume Seignac (source)

I do hope you like it, and thanks for reading!

 

And if you really liked this poem, consider leaving me a tip!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com


*For this poem, special thanks to wolf-sister Ariana Ferrone
**Crossing off another item from my 30 Before 30 list!
***I mentioned good news in August in my beach birthday post.
****All images are attributed unless they're mine.

SUPPLEMENT:
(Myth) Actaeon | Greek/Classical Mythology
(Music) Runaway | Ryn Weaver
(Music) Coming Down | Halsey
17 thoughts on “Hart & Hunter

  1. L.C. Chiasson says:

    As a fellow writer I give you all of the kudos. All of them. Getting published is no small feat. Haven’t been there yet, myself, but I bet it feels great. Your poem is beautiful. I freaking love it! Love it. Love it. Love it.

    Like

  2. Kavitha Rath says:

    Beautiful, haunting poem! I have taken up writing again recently after a long, long break where I’d about given up, and am finding my way back. So it’s wonderful and inspiring to read that others are doing similar 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yahong says:

    ALICE ahhh I’m so happy for you!! Your poetry so deserves to be out in the world, it’s amazing to see it on Strange Horizons 😀 The poem is wonderful — you write such amazing nature-related verse, it dazzles me. The parallels in the first and last paragraph make me giddy with amateur-poet glee, haha. I hope this means more of your poetry will be finding its way into more lit mags soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • literallyalice says:

      Hey, I’m in the amateur-poet boat with you! Glad you enjoyed it, and your support has always meant a lot to me. I hope this means more poetry out in the world too! It’s certainly made me more serious about both writing poetry and submitting it! 😀

      Like

  4. linda says:

    Ahhh so amazing! I can’t even imagine how thrilled you are to have your poem published in Strange Horizons. You totally deserve it, it’s beautiful! So happy for you! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

