2016: One Word Resolution

I usually make this post at the A Nudge in the Right Direction, but since I have my 30 Before 30 goals here, I thought this might be a more appropriate venue.

For the past few years, instead of making individual New Year’s Resolutions, I’ve picked one word to be my touchstone and guide for the year. I call it the One Word Resolution, but I read about the concept first at Jessica Cora‘s blog. I’ve also used Susannah Conway’s free e-workshop for finding my yearly word.

I let January get away from me, which I admit isn’t the best start to 2016, but I have landed on a word for the year.

INTENT

2015 was a wonderful year that swept me away. I don’t think I was completely successful with sticking to my word CHANGE, but I did let myself say “yes” to more things and didn’t self-reject from opportunities and experiences as much. At the same time, doing as much as I did also left me feeling spent and burnt-out, especially towards the end of the year. I found myself wondering where all my time went, and yet on weekends, I found myself so exhausted that I couldn’t motivate myself to do any of the productive things I wanted to do.

12424581_1744707705760679_1819388782_n

So while I wanted to keep the active strength of a word like change, I wanted to combine it with something kinder to my introverted self (something closer to past words PRESENT and FOCUS).

I’d like to have more intent in my actions in 2016. While being more social and spontaneous last year was good for me (and honestly so much fun), I want to do things with more intention, so that I’ll hopefully have less moments of “where did the time go?”. This should also help me free up time for scheduled quiet time for recharging.

Like last year, I made a Pinterest board to keep me inspired throughout the year.

And in the spirit of the new year and the year I turn 30, here is the most updated version of my 30 Before 30 list! There are some I don’t think will happen, so I may revise them in a month or two, but I think I’ve done pretty great with others!

For example, I have since been on one more podcast (a review of the new Star Wars movie!), and that 1st poem I sold? Apparently, it’s been nominated for Rhysling Award (an annual speculative poetry award)!

  1. Road trip up the Pacific Coast Highway.
  2. Order a subscription box. (Owlcrate!)
  3. Finally read Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.
  4. Attend San Diego Comic Con.
  5. Attend a music festival. (Coachella)
  6. See a Broadway musical on Broadway. (the brilliant Hamilton – post to come.)
  7. Go on a spontaneous vacation.
  8. Visit Harry Potter Wizarding World /Harry Potter Studio Tour.
  9. See something Shakespeare performed in London.
  10. Go on a writers’ retreat.
  11. Sell a poem.
  12. Vacation with my friends. (Post to come)
  13. Attend a book convention.
  14. Visit Hamilton Grange (finally!!)
  15. Finish book trilogies: Graceling Realm, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Lynburn Legacy.
  16. Visit the White House.
  17. Rehaul my closet (time to shed the old wardrobe, old skin).
  18. Go to Italy.
  19. Finish a manuscript.
  20. Watch a big game at a sports bar.
  21. Learn calligraphy.
  22. Read Jellicoe Road (finally!).
  23. Ride a mule down into the Grand Canyon.
  24. Bonfire on the beach.
  25. Participate in a podcast. Done (1)done (2), and done (3)!
  26. Have a summer movie marathon.
  27. Visit The Last Bookstore (Post to come!).
  28. Take Loki to the beach.
  29. Visit the Smithsonian National Museum of American History. (Post to come!!)
  30. Make magic coffee.

Follow on this page for the most updates.

What’s your Word for the Year?

9 thoughts on “2016: One Word Resolution

  1. Yahong says:

    Oh, I love it, Alice! To be honest, the idea of a one-word resolution is so fun that I love all of your past words 😀 Your 30 before 30 list is coming along so well! Best of luck with the rest of them 🙂

    Like

    • literallyalice says:

      Thanks!! I really like the One Word concept. It takes the pressure off of having individual resolutions, and it gives you more flexibility with goal-setting and such throughout the year. 🙂

      I’m working on the closet rehaul right now. It is DAUNTING.

      Like

Leave a Reply

