Well-Met

For this Flashback Friday, I thought I’d share a poem I wrote in February for a monthly challenge using a photo or artwork as prompt. Since the challenge is over now and I wasn’t sure what to do with the poem, I thought I’d share it here. Plus, it’s National Poetry Month! Let’s celebrate!

The poem is also a throwback because it’s about winter and riffs on some of the feelings I had when I was in New York City in February 2015. Fountains were frozen, and there was snow on the ground but no clouds in the sky. I was wearing pants under my pants and regretting my lack of gloves, but I felt invigorated and content.

Well-Met

I love winter in the city
when everything is crisp and drawn in clean lines,
muted to neutral colors or classic
black and white –
timeless
like a photograph.
Something I can grasp
with my hands.

The sky descends to the earth,
gentle as a flurry, soft as first snow,
meeting at the horizon
in a lover’s kiss
like we did
all those winters ago.

I can’t remember when it was with precision,
only that it felt frozen and perfect
mirror-clear,
a framed moment under glass,
a promise
like a breath held.

met

P.S. For a look into my poetry process and other fun things, my friend Amparo has interviewed me here: STAYING AWESOME INTERVIEW SERIES: ALICE.

If you enjoyed this poem, consider leaving me a tip!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

*Thanks to Alz, Eva, and Tracey for their comments on this poem.
**Photos taken by Catherine.

Supplement:
(Music) Kiss Me Slowly | Parachute
One thought on “Well-Met

Leave a Reply

