Reflecting on 30 Before 30

Today is my 30th birthday, which is weird only in that I still don’t feel like an “adult.” I guess no one really does even when they are. It’s also weird to think I’ve been on this good earth for 3 decades!

Since it’s a Tuesday, I celebrated with friends this past weekend with food and especially desserts, as well as a good dose of book discussion – which is to say, a few of us had some strong words to say about Harry Potter & the Cursed Child.

That said, my 30th birthday also marks the “conclusion” of my 30 Before 30 project.

I say conclusion with quotation marks because I’m obviously not going to stop working towards these goals just because I’m 30 now. But I do want to reflect a little about what I managed to do and how I want to proceed from here.

Here is my list as it stands.

  1. Road trip up the Pacific Coast Highway.
  2. Order a subscription box. (Owlcrate!)
  3. Finally read Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.
  4. Attend San Diego Comic Con.
  5. Attend a music festival. (Coachella x2)
  6. See a Broadway musical on Broadway. (the brilliant Hamilton- off & on Broadway)
  7. Go on a spontaneous vacation. (New Orleans with the ConSquad)
  8. Visit Harry Potter Wizarding World /Harry Potter Studio Tour. (The Los Angeles park)
  9. See something Shakespeare performed in London. (Coriolanus w/ Tom Hiddleston)
  10. Go on a writers’ retreat.
  11. Sell a poem. (Actaeon!)
  12. Vacation with my friends. (East Coast trip! NOLA!)
  13. Attend a book convention. (Does YALLWest count?)
  14. Visit Hamilton Grange (finally!!)
  15. Finish book trilogies: Graceling Realm, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Lynburn Legacy.
  16. Visit the White House.
  17. Rehaul my closet.
  18. Go to Italy.
  19. Finish a manuscript.
  20. Watch a big game at a sports bar. (The 2014 World Cup)
  21. Learn calligraphy.
  22. Read Jellicoe Road (finally!). (Reading it now.)
  23. Ride a mule down into the Grand Canyon.
  24. Bonfire on the beach. (My 29th Birthday!)
  25. Participate in a podcast. Done (1)done (2), and done (3)! Done (4)!
  26. Have a summer movie marathon. (Star Wars movie marathon)
  27. Visit The Last Bookstore.
  28. Take Loki to the beach.
  29. Visit the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.
  30. Make magic coffee.

There are a few items I’m currently working on (I’m reading Jellicoe Road now), and there are a few things I’m looking forward to repeating (Hamilton, again – all day every day). I think overall, I didn’t do too shabby in the past year, though I really could’ve planned my reading schedule better to get the reading goals in.

I’m most pleased by No. 11; I was able to sell a poem. That goal was one that wasn’t in my control, and I still can’t believe it happened – and that it happened with my first poem out. Way to set a high bar! Beyond that, working towards that has pushed me to submit more and to write more – and I’m pleased to be doing that.

Next week, I will be posting a new/updated list as a 30 before 35. I hope this might inspire you to make your own list or to set a few goals of your own. Thanks for joining me on this journey!

11 thoughts on “Reflecting on 30 Before 30

  1. Stephanie Scott (@StephScottYA) says:

    Yallwest counts! Also, I work in healthcare and saw a travel note about a health clinic that is only accessible by mule ride or helicopter trip in the Grand Canyon. It’s a super old village! So if you mule it there, you will have an option for medical care in case something goes amiss 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • literallyalice says:

      Hahah, thanks Stephanie! The mule stuff seems kind of intense. I went to the Grand Canyon last September, and we saw the mules go by on one of the hiking trails. It was a little terrifying and now I don’t know if I have the guts to still want to do that? Lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

