Shift

It seems fitting that as the strange, tumultuous year that was 2016 closed, the first poem I wrote in 2016 should step into the fading light of December.

I wrote SKIN in February 2016, out of the gray depths of winter. Perhaps it was a response to a nameless restlessness inside me or the unconsciously absorbed rumblings warning of a fraught time to come, but a very specific story came to me about a being who is constantly searching for something, who loses and finds themselves, who isn’t afraid to change. A shapeshifter.

SKIN” was published in Liminality, a speculative poetry magazine, Issue #10 Winter 2016/17.

I feel so honored to have this poem included in an issue of Liminality that includes so much gorgeous poetry about transformation and fierce determination. I hope you’ll take your time and go through the entire issue. It’s so worth it.

Some poem aesthetics for “Skin.”

skin-collage2

I wrote this poem all at once, and it spurred a creative burst for me early in 2016. It led to my connecting more meaningfully with a few of my writer friends too. I often think of “Skin” as paired with “Susurrus,” which sold right after I found out that “Skin” had been accepted. These 2 poems were my favorites of everything I’d written last year.

skin-collage-1

I hope you enjoyed “Skin” and any of my poetry from 2016! I’m still coming out of my shell when it comes to sharing my work, and it’s been scary but worth it. Thank you for sticking around.

There will be more words in this new year! I hope it moves you.

 

*Images in the collages are from my pins on Pinterest. They are not mine.
**Thanks SJM for your feedback & early enthusiasm/encouragement.
***Thanks Alz, Tracey, Sarah G, and Eva always for your feedback & help.

If you enjoy any of my content (poetry or not) and have the means, consider buying me a coffee! Angels will sing of your kindness – or at least, I will.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

5 thoughts on “Shift

  1. Kavitha says:

    Great background notes on the motivation behind your poem. I’m reading this only after I’ve read the poem, and it’s good context. I’m kind personally obsessed with the idea of shapeshifters and I really feel like it has something to do with how I’ve defined myself in terms of the Other. I feel like the positive side of being a little uncomfortable in one’s own skin is being comfortable with change and reinvention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • literallyalice says:

      Thanks for the comment, Kavitha. Shapeshifters hold the same kind of appeal to me – like a physical representation of how I sometimes feel. And while being Other can be incredibly lonely, I do also like the positive side of it, like you said, that we are always something more. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

